Stetson University, FL, U.S.

Prof Rebecca C. Morgan is the Boston Asset Management Chair in Elder Law, the Co-Director of the Center for Excellence in Elder Law at Stetson University College of Law and the original director of Stetson’s on-line LL.M. in Elder Law. She is a successful co-author of Matthew Bender’s Tax, Estate, and Financial Planning for the Elderly and its companion forms book, a co-author of Representing the Elderly in Florida, co-author of Fundamentals of Special Needs Trusts and serves as a member of the elder law editorial board for Matthew Bender. She also co-authored Planning for Disability for BNA with Robert Fleming and a co-author of Ethics in an Elder Law Practice for the ABA. She and four of her colleagues have co-authored, Elder Law in Context. Professor Morgan is a past president of the National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys, past president of the Board of Directors of the National Senior Citizens Law Center (now known as Justice in Aging), past chair of the American Association of Law Schools Section on Aging and the Law and of the Florida Bar Elder Law Section, and was on the Faculty of the National Judicial College. She previously served on state task forces regarding elder abuse and revisions to Florida’s guardianship statute and served as the reporter for the Uniform Guardianship and Protective Proceedings Act. She is a member of the academic advisory board for the Borchard Center for Law and Aging, an academic fellow of the American College of Trusts & Estates Counsel, a member of ALI, a NAELA fellow, and a member of NAELA’s Council of Advanced Practitioners (CAP). She is on the board, and serves as treasurer, for the Center for Medicare Advocacy. She recently joined the board of the American Society on Aging. Professor Morgan was the recipient of the 2003 Faculty Award on Professionalism from the Florida Supreme Court Commission on Professionalism and along with Professor Roberta Flowers, received the 2005 Project Award on Professionalism from the Florida Supreme Court Commission on Professionalism for their video series on ethics in an elder law practice. She received the NAELA Unaward in November 2004 from President Stu Zimring for her accomplishments in the field of elder law. She received the 2006 Rosalie Wolf Memorial Elder Abuse Prevention Award from the National Committee for the Prevention of Elder Abuse, the Theresa Award from the Theresa Alessandra Russo Foundation in 2008, the NAELA President’s Award from NAELA President Mark Shalloway in May of 2008 and the 2009 Treat Award for Excellence from the National College of Probate Judges. She received the inaugural award for Excellence in Elder Law from the National Elder Law Foundation (NELF).